Mustangs News · 2015 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awarded to Meadowcreek High School


The Georgia High School Association and Georgia’s Electric Membership Corporations (Georgia EMC) proudly announce the 48 GHSA-member high schools that will receive the 2015 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award. The award honors schools that demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2014-2015 school year.

“Sportsmanship is an essential element in the mission of education-based athletics,” says Gary Phillips, GHSA Executive Director. “Good sporting behavior involves many important values that influence the behavior of productive citizens. The GHSA appreciates the efforts of Georgia EMC to recognize schools that have excelled at good sportsmanship.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award, which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools around the state are honored for exhibiting exceptional sportsmanship during competitive events.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon the sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 48 regions from the six classifications by representatives from the EMCs during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2015 Georgia EMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award are:

Region Winners:


Region-1- Lee County

Region-2- Lakeside-DeKalb

Region-3- Campbell

Region-4- Hillgrove

Region-5- Pope

Region-6- Habersham Central

Region-7- Meadowcreek

Region-8- South Gwinnett

For more, click the following link: